Daily Archives: August 29, 2015

Rain disrupts play as India reach 298/8 on Day 2


Pujara saves the day with his seventh Test century.
India reached 292 for eight in their first innings when steady drizzle stopped the proceedings with 12.3 overs still left on day two of third Test against Sri Lanka on Saturday.

When rain stopped play, opener Cheteshwar Pujara, who battled through to his seventh test hundred, was batting in company of Ishant Sharma, who was not out on 2 as the Indian innings was in its 96th over (95.3 overs). Right-hand batsman Pujara, who was carrying the team on his back through the day, was 135 not out as they stopped playing due to rain.

Sri Lanka seamer Dhammika Prasad caused the biggest damage for India, taking four wickets for 65 runs.

Pujara, brought in to replace injured Murali Vijay, spent more than five and a half hours at the crease and scored his runs off 219 deliveries, including nine boundaries. But his partners have failed to stay with him to build big partnerships.

India started after lunch on 119-4 and Prasad, having dismissed Rohit Sharma in the last ball before the break, struck in his first ball of the session trapping Stuart Binny lbw for a golden duck.

After only 15 overs of play was possible on the first day, the second day’s play saw 80.3 overs being bowled by the home team.

The three-test series is tied 1-1.


DMK, PMK condemn U.S. stand on Sri Lanka


The U.S. government’s decision to support the new Sri Lankan government’s plans for a local inquiry into alleged wartime atrocities has evoked strong criticism from DMK leader M. Karunanidhi and PMK founder S. Ramadoss.

“The U.S. government’s move looks as if it wants to cover up the war crimes. I hope it will not happen. If Sri Lanka is allowed to conduct its own inquiry, the DMK will strongly condemn the U.S.,” Mr. Karunanidhi said in a statement.

Dr. Ramadoss said that though he was pained by the decision of the U.S. government, he was not surprised because he had expected it.

“I have been saying that we should not trust the U.S. as it would not hesitate to betray the interest of Tamils. My stand has been vindicated now,” he said.

Even the new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka, Ranil Wickermesinghe, could not get justice for the Tamils as it was during his regime that efforts were made for the final war against the Tamils.

“The only ray of hope is the United Nations Human Rights Council . It should ensure that an international inquiry is ordered into the war crimes,” Dr. Ramadoss said.


31 Royalists in new Parliament!


General Election 2015 (28 Elected & 03 Appointed = 31 Royalists as MPs)

1. Ranil Wickramasinghe (Leader-UNP)

2. Duminda Disanayake (Secretary-SLFP)

3. Dinesh Gunawardena (Leader-MEP)

4. Rauf Hakeem (Leader-SLMC)

5. Arumugam Thondaman (Leader-CWC)

6. M.A.Sumanthiran (TNA)

7. Kabir Hashim (Secretary-UNP)

8. Laxman Kirialla (Vice President-UNP)

9. Sajith Premadasa (Deputy Leader-UNP)

10. Gayantha Karunathilaka (UNP)

11. Vidura Wickramanayaka (SLFP)

12. Mangala Samaraweera (UNP)

13. Naveen Disanayake (UNP)

14. Mahindananda Aluthgamage (SLFP)

15. Ravi Karunanayake (UNP)

16. Priyankara Jayarathna (SLFP)

17. Ranjith Siyabalapitiya (SLFP)

18. Mohan Lal Grero (SLFP)

19. Dunesh Gankanda (UNP)

20. Harsha de Silva (UNP)

21. Eran Wickramarathne (UNP)

22. Sagala Rathnayake (UNP)

23. Harshana Rajakaruna (UNP)

24. Mayantha Disanayake (UNP)

25. Kanchana wijesekara (SLFP)

26. Anuradha Jayarathne (SLFP)

27. Kavinga Jayawardena (UNP)

28. Imran Maharoof (UNP)

National List MP

1. Malik Samarawickrama (President-UNP)

2. D. M.Swaminadhan (UNP)

3. Fazer Musthpa, PC (UNP)

UNP – 19
SLFP – 08
MEP – 01
SLMC – 01
CWC – 01
TNA – 01 TTL – 31

%d bloggers like this: