Daily Archives: August 23, 2015

T3 Awards 2015: One week left to vote and win!


It’s your last chance to vote in this year’s T3 Awards!

The T3 Awards is renowned as being the “Oscars Of Tech” and is a celebration of the past 12 months gadgets and services that are revolutionising the way we live.

There is only one week left to have your say with voting closing on Sunday (30th August). There are 13 categories to vote on in this fiercely fought competition. From Phone and Wearable Tech of the Year through to Home Gadget of the Year and The Entertainment Award, these shortlists have been argued out by some of the world’s leading tech experts alongside the all important public vote.

Everyone who votes are in with the chance of winning one of five Acer Chromebooks. So if you can’t imagine life without your Apple Watch, or if you can’t understand how you ever enjoyed watching TV without Netflix on a curved TV, then cast your vote now and have your say t3.com/awards.

This year Wearable Tech leads the charge across the Awards, with Apple Watch the most nominated product. Apple’s wearable scoops three nominations, including Design Innovation and Wearable of the Year, while the Fitbit Charge HR and Garmin Forerunner 920 XT receive two apiece.

Virtual Reality also has a good showing with the Samsung Gear VR up for Gadget and Gaming Product of the Year, and category kickstarter Oculus Rift Crescent Bay up for Gaming Product.

Don’t forget to vote in the T3 Awards


Eighth Parliament to convene on Sept 1


The Eighth Parliament of Sri Lanka will convene on September 1 under the new national government formed by the UNP- led United National Front (UNF) for Good Governance and the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP).

The main business of the new Parliament during its inaugural session will be to appoint a Speaker, Deputy Speaker and the Deputy Chairman of Committees for the House. The presidential proclamation convening the inaugural session of the Parliament has already been been issued by President Maithripala Sirisena, top parliamentary sources said yesterday.

The new Parliament will include many new faces from both major political parties, the UNF and the UPFA. Over 60 former parliamentarians who contested the August 17 general election failed to enter Parliament.

This includes 18 former ministers and State ministers, 21 deputy ministers and over 22 UPFA heavyweights. However, five defeated UPFA candidates have been included in the UPFA National List.

The UNF emerged victorious by securing 106 seats, while the UPFA obtained 95 seats. However, both parties failed to secure an absolute majority in the 225- member Parliament.

According to the election results, the UNP received 13 bonus seats, while the UPFA received 12. The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) and Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) received two bonus seats each. The composition of the new Parliament remains: UNP (106), UPFA (95), TNA (16), JVP (6), SLMC (1) and EPDP (1).

Meanwhile, the TNA has already declared its intention of being the main opposition party, in the event a national government is formed between the UNP and the SLFP. It has demanded party leader R. Sampanthan, be recognized as the next Leader of the Opposition.

The TNA secured 16 seats. Informed sources said the swearing-in ceremony of the new Cabinet is scheduled to take place tomorrow (24).

The new national government will be formed in accordance with the Memorandum of Understanding ( MoU) signed between the UNP and the SLFP on August 21. A Cabinet of 30 ministers and 40 deputy ministers is likely to be appointed, sources said. An Information Counter will be kept open at the Parliamentary Complex from August 24-26 to facilitate all elected members.

All parliamentarians are requested to make use of the facilities as arrangements have been made to provide vital information and documents regarding Parliament procedures.


%d bloggers like this: