Three Ministers Resign Protesting Sirisena’s Remarks Against Rajapaksa


COLOMBO: Three Sri Lankan Deputy Ministers resigned on Thursday in protest against President Maithripala Sirisena’s televised statement in which he predicted the defeat of his own party, the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), in the August 17 parliamentary elections, and vowed that he will not appoint Mahinda Rajapaksa as Prime Minister even if the SLFP wins the elections.

Deputy Ministers Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Lasantha Alagiyawanna and Eric Prasanna Weerawardena told the media that they have sent in their resignations to the President.

Sri Lanka has a coalition government comprising a section of the SLFP, the United National Party (UNP), and other smaller parties. While President Sirisena belongs to the SLFP, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe is from the UNP.

Deputy Minister Sudarshani Fernandopulle said that Sirisena’s anti-Rajapaksa and anti-SLFP remarks have dealt a blow to SLFP unity, when unity of the party is badly needed to prevent the country from going into the hands of the authoritarian UNP.

Asked if the SLFP leaders will meet and throw Sirisena out of the Chairmanship of the party, Fernandopulle said that such a step could be considered by the Central Committee (CC) when it meets next.

But Rajitha Senaratne, a Sirisena loyalist, countered this. The CC cannot be convened without the permission of Chairman Sirisena, he pointed out. On Wednesday, the Colombo District Court had stayed a meeting of the CC on the grounds that it did not have the Chairman’s permission to meet.

Deputy Minister Eric Weerawadana said that Sirisena’s statement has made the SLFP cadre even more determined to rally round Sirisena’s rival, former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, and take the party towards victory.

Former MP and SLFP Muslim leader A.H.M.Azwer described Sirisena’s remarks as “atrocious.” The President has fallen prey to an “American-Zionist conspiracy” to weaken Sri Lanka, he said.

Striking a different note, former Minister Dilan Perera pointed out that the President has criticized the United National Party (UNP) also in his speech. “Perhaps Sirisena and Rajapaksa are working to a common anti-UNP agenda,” he said.



About lankapage

We are an online publication (Educational Purpose Blog) made up largely of what we call “disintermediated” news – that is news without a spin put on it by a journalist, published as it’s delivered to Lankapage. All copyrights belong to their respective owners. Images and text owned by other copyright holders are used here under the guidelines of the Fair Use provisions of United States Copyright Law. Images and text are used here only for the education purpose and are not intended to generate income for the blog, its employees, or its students. That makes us unique. All content is delivered to you as the writer or producer intended — leaving only you to make judgments about what you read or watch, not us.

Posted on July 17, 2015, in Sri Lanka. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Three Ministers Resign Protesting Sirisena’s Remarks Against Rajapaksa.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: