Lanka Sacks 50 Non-Career Diplomats in Major Purge


Lanka Page says Thanks Above!

COLOMBO:In a major purge of the Sri Lankan Foreign Office, the new Maithripala Sirisena government has sacked 50 non-career diplomats who had been appointed by the previous regime on political and other non-professional grounds.

The purge covers 27 Ambassadors, High Commissioners and Heads of Missions; three Consuls General and 23 others. Among the prominent Heads of Missions sacked are: former Navy chief Adm.Thissara Samarasinghe (Australia); former Army Commander Gen. Shantha Kottegoda (Thailand); former Navy Chief Adm.Wasantha Karannagoda (Japan), and former Foreign Secretary Dr.Palitha Kohona (Permanent Representative at the UN in New York).

But Lanka’s High Commissioner in India, Prof. Sudarshan Seneviratne, a non-career diplomat, has been retained.

The removal of political appointees and restoring competence and professionalism in Lanka’s foreign service was one of the election pledges of President Sirisena. Politicization of the foreign service has a long history in post-independence Lanka, but it took a particularly virulent form during the 10 year rule of former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, who, in order to strengthen himself politically to be able to fight the war against the LTTE, encouraged defections from the opposition by offering Ministerships, Ambassadorships and other diplomatic positions as a bait.

Lanka’s foreign service has been small, and therefore, it has had to take personnel from other services and fields to man the increasing number of missions overseas. The ratio had been fixed at 60 career diplomats to 40 non-career personnel and political appointees. But this ratio had tilted in favor of non-career diplomats under the Rajapaksa regime. The Srisena government has vowed to have 70 career diplomats to 30 non-career ones.


Recalled Head of Missions 

1    H.E. Mrs. Bharathi Wijeratne   – Ambassador/Ankara
2    H.E. Mr.  Gamini Rajapakse   – Ambassador/Amman
3    H.E. Gen (Rtd) S.H.S. Kottegoda   – Ambassador/ Bangkok
4    H.E. Mr. Raja Edirisooriya    -Ambassador/Brasilia
5    H.E. Admiral (Rtd) T.G.S. Samarasinghe    -High Commissioner/ Canberra
6    H.E. Dr. K.G.I. Amarasinghe    -Ambassador/Hanoi
7    H.E. ACM (Rtd ) JayalathWeerakkody    -High Commissioner/ Islamabad
8    H.E. Mr. S.N. MarikarBhawa    -Ambassador/ Kabul
9    H.E. Mr. V. Kananathan    -High Commissioner/ Kampala
10    H.E. Mr. W.G.N.H. Dias    -High Commissioner/ Male
11    H.E. Prof. Gamini Samaranayake    -Ambassador/ Manila
12    H.E. Mr. U. Weeratunga    -Ambassador/ Moscow
13    H.E. Dr. Palitha T.B. Kohona    -Permanent Representative to UN, New York
14    H.E. Prof. N.H.A. Karunaratne    -Ambassador/Paris & Permanent Delegate to UNESCO
15    H.E. Mr. Sarath Kongahage    -High Commissioner/Pretoria

16    H.E. Mr. HussainMohamdHussain    -Ambassador/ Riyadh
17    H.E. Mr. N.B. Cooray    -Ambassador/ Rome Permanent Representative to FAO
18    H.E Mr. W.W.T. Wijeratne   – Ambassador/Seoul
19    H.E. Mr. O. Alahapperuma    -Ambassador/Stockholm
20    H.E. Mr. M.F. Razeen    -Ambassador/ Tehran
21    H.E. Mr.  SarathWijesinghe   – Ambassador/Tel Aviv
22    H.E. Mr. Buddhi K. Athauda    -Ambassador/ The Hague  & Permanent Representative to OPCW
23    H.E. Admiral (Rtd) WasanthaKarannagoda    -Ambassador/Tokyo
24    H.E. Mr. RajathaPiyatissa    -High Commissioner/Victoria
25    H.E. Mr. D.S. de Silva    -Ambassador/Warsaw
26    H.E. Mr. H.R. Piyasiri    -Ambassador/Yangon

Recalled  Non- Career, Consul General Level Officers 
NO    Name    Mission    Designation     
1    Mr.Pradip Jayawardane    -Frankfurt    Consul General     
2    Dr.Adambawa Uthumalebbe    -Jeddah    Consul General     
3    Mr. Mohan De Alwis    -Toronto    Consul General     
Recalled  Non-Career, Non-Head of Mission Level Officers 
NO    Name    Mission    Designation     
1    Mr. Thanuja Usliyanage    -Washington DC    Minister
2    Mr.D.G.N.Rambukwella   – Canberra    Minister Counsellor     
3    Dr.(Ms.)Hashini Kokila Waidyaratne    -London    Minister
4    Ms.C.J.Rambukwella   – New York    Second Secretary     
5    Miss.P.R.B.W.Cooray    -Paris    Second Secretary     
6    Mr.Nawodh Hennayake    -Vienna    Second Secretary     
7    Mr. Dixon J Perera    -Kathmandu    Minister Counsellor      
8    Mrs. Rani Malathi S. Bulathwela    -Rome    Minister 
9    Mrs. Rathna Ranaweera   – Canberra    Third Secretary     
10    Mr. Waruna Epasinghe   – Washington    Minister
11    Ms. M.I.Thuduwewatte    -Beijing    First Secretary     
12    Ms. K.T.C.Shalendri    -Canberra    Second Secretary     
13    Mr.Lalith  Sepala Ratnayake    -London    Minister
14    Ms. Dharshie Lokuge    -Brussels    First Secretary     
15    Mr. Dilukshan Jayasinghe    -Dubai    Third Secretary     
16    Ms. Yasara Abeynayake    -Sydney    Consul/   MC     
17    Mr. Lukshman Hulugalle    -Canberra    DHC
18    Mr. Pradeep P.Madddumabandara    -Amman    Third Secretary     
19    Mr. P.K.M.R.S.Wijeratne    -Cairo    Second Secretary     
20    Mr. Umayanga Nanayakkara    -PRUN/New York    Second Secretary     
21    Ms. Janathri Nanayakkara    -Washington DC    Second  Secretary     
22    Mr. M.S.M.Liyawdeen    -Baghdad    CDA
23    Mrs. Anusha Sivarajah    -Chennai    Minister

About lankapage

We are an online publication (Educational Purpose Blog) made up largely of what we call “disintermediated” news – that is news without a spin put on it by a journalist, published as it’s delivered to Lankapage. All copyrights belong to their respective owners. Images and text owned by other copyright holders are used here under the guidelines of the Fair Use provisions of United States Copyright Law. Images and text are used here only for the education purpose and are not intended to generate income for the blog, its employees, or its students. That makes us unique. All content is delivered to you as the writer or producer intended — leaving only you to make judgments about what you read or watch, not us.

Posted on February 18, 2015, in Sri Lanka. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Lanka Sacks 50 Non-Career Diplomats in Major Purge.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: