Sri Lanka win in Rajkot thriller

Sri Lankan cricketers Kumar Sangakkara, extreme left, runs to join other teammates to celebrate their team’s victory over India in the second one-day international in Rajkot, India, Sunday, Feb. 11, 2007. (AP Photo/Aman Sharma)

RAJKOT, India (AP) – Kumar Sangakkara slammed an aggressive century and pace bowler Farveez Maharoof produced a three-wicket burst to clinch Sri Lanka a thrilling five-run victory against India in the second limited-overs international Sunday.

Sangakkara’s 128-ball 110 revived Sri Lanka to 257 for eight from 50 overs after a top-order slide. Maharoof then snared three for 42 as India faltered in its chase to finish on 252 for nine in 50 overs.

The first one-dayer in Calcutta was declared a draw Thursday after it was abandoned due to heavy showers.

Shaken by Maharoof’s penetrative burst, India still seemed on victory course at 244 for seven after 48 overs. The hosts needed 14 runs from 12 balls and Mahendra Dhoni was closing on his half-century when paceman Malinga Bhandara conceded just three runs in the 49th over.

India needed 11 runs from the final over, but Sri Lanka Veteran Sanath Jayasuriya conceded just five runs as Anil Kumble (2) was run out going for a desperate second run and Dhoni was caught by Maharoof at extra-cover.

Sangakkara shared an innings-building fifth wicket stand of 108 from 125 deliveries with Tillekaratne Dilshan, who posted a composed 56.

Sangakkara struck four sixes and 11 boundaries, posting his sixth limited-overs century. Dilshan hit seven fours from 65 deliveries to register his eighth one-day half-century.

Put in to bat first after India captain Rahul Dravid won the toss, Sri Lanka got off to a jittery start after Jayasuriya (9) was dismissed in the third over.

Jayasuriya lofted paceman Munaf Patel for a six over covers on the first delivery of the third over, but fell two balls later as he edged an outgoing ball into the gloves of wicketkeeper Dhoni.

Opener Upul Tharanga (12) departed soon after, snapped by Sachin Tendulkar at second slip off Shantakumaran Sreesanth, and Marvan Atapattu (15) also fell cheaply as Patel trapped him lbw.

Skipper Mahela Jayawardene become Sreesanth’s second victim when Dhoni dived to snap the ball that had ricocheted off slip fielder Sourav Ganguly’s chest.

Sangakkara swung Ganguly for a six over mid-on, but then avoided lofted strokes until the final overs as he approached his century.

Dilshan was clean bowled in trying to cut off-spinner Harbhajan Singh.

Accelerating toward the end, Sangakkara hoisted part-time spinner Tendulkar over the mid-wicket fence then completed his century with a similar stroke against seasoned leg-break bowler Anil Kumble.

Sangakkara departed in the penultimate over when a lofted on-drive off paceman Patel went straight to Virender Sehwag at mid-on. Patel dismissed Maharoof (17) on the next ball to return figures of four for 50.

India too had a shaky start as Maharoof removed opener Robin Uthappa (7) and Dravid (5) cheaply before former Ganguly (62) and Tendulkar (54) steadied the innings with the third-wicket stand of 100.

Continuing his impressive performance since returning to India’s one-day squad last month after nearly 1-1/2 years, Ganguly top-scored by hitting one six and six boundaries from 79 deliveries.

Tendulkar stuck nine boundaries off 61 balls before being beaten by the turn of leg-spinner Malinga Bandara and was stumped by Sangakkara.

Sehwag contributed just 19 on his return to the Indian team after being left out of last month’s series against the West Indies due to his poor form. via … The Island


Sri Lanka Innings

Upul Tharanga c Tendulkar b Sreesanth 12

Sanath Jayasuriya c Dhoni b Patel 9

Marvan Atapattu lbw b Patel 15

Kumar Sangakkara c Sehwag b Patel 110

M. Jayawardene c Dhoni b Sreesanth 4

Tillekaratne Dilshan b Singh 56

Russel Arnold lbw b Tendulkar 7

Farveez Maharoof c Karthik b Patel 17

Nuwan Kulasekera not out 3

Malinga Bandara not out 4

Extras (13lb, 4w, 3nb) 20

TOTAL (for eight wickets) 257

Overs: 50. Batting time: 214 minutes

Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-31, 3-53, 4-58, 5-166, 6-188, 7-249, 8-249

Did not bat: Lasith Malinga

Bowling: Munaf Patel 9-0-50-4 (2nb, 2w), Shantakumaran Sreesanth 10-1-39-2 (1nb, 1w), Sourav Ganguly 2-0-14-0, Harbhajan Singh 10-0-41-1, Anil Kumble 10-1-59-0, Sachin Tendulkar 9-0-41-1 (1w)

India Innings

Robin Uthappa c Jayawardene b Maharoof 7

Sourav Ganguly c Sangakkara b Malinga 62

Rahul Dravid b Maharoof 5

S. Tendulkar st Sangakkara b Bandara 54

V. Sehwag c Sangakkara b Bandara 19

M. Dhoni c Maharoof b Jayasuriya 48

Dinesh Karthik lbw b Malinga 31

H. Singh c Jayawardene b Maharoof 2

Anil Kumble run out 2

Shantakumaran Sreesanth not out 0

Munaf Patel not out 0

Extras (1b, 5lb, 7nb, 9w) 22

TOTAL (for nine wickets) 252

Overs: 50. Batting time: 234 minutes

Fall of wickets: 1-14, 2-29, 3-129, 4-154, 5-169, 6-235, 7-241, 8-248, 9-252

Bowling: Lasith Malinga 10-0-75-2 (5nb, 4w), Farveez Maharoof 10-0-42-3 (2nb, 3w), Nuwan Kulasekera 10-0-48-0 (1w), Malinga

Bandara 10-0-36-2 (1w), Sanath Jayasuriya

9-0-38-1, Tillekaratne Dilshan 1-0-7-0

Umpires: Simon Taufel, Australia, and Suresh Shastri, India.

TV Umpire: G.A. Pratapkumar, India. Match Referee: Alan Hurst, Australia.

Toss: Won by India.

Result: Sri Lanka won by five runs.

Series: Sri Lanka 1, India 0.


About lankapage

We are an online publication (Educational Purpose Blog) made up largely of what we call “disintermediated” news – that is news without a spin put on it by a journalist, published as it’s delivered to Lankapage. All copyrights belong to their respective owners. Images and text owned by other copyright holders are used here under the guidelines of the Fair Use provisions of United States Copyright Law. Images and text are used here only for the education purpose and are not intended to generate income for the blog, its employees, or its students. That makes us unique. All content is delivered to you as the writer or producer intended — leaving only you to make judgments about what you read or watch, not us.

Posted on February 12, 2007, in Sri Lanka and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sri Lanka win in Rajkot thriller.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: